County program record

Morgan County, Alabama

3 public school districts are geographically associated with this county in the 2024–25 NCES relationship file.

State research baseline

Alabama gifted education framework

Alabama recognizes intellectually gifted learners as exceptional children and publishes statewide policy, referral, eligibility, rights, and instructional standards for gifted education.

What this means for families: Families may initiate a referral through their local school system. Eligibility and services follow the Alabama framework, while grade configuration, setting, and instructional schedule are determined locally.

Coverage
K–12 through public school systems
Last reviewed
September 5, 2026

Official program research

Morgan County School District

Gifted Services

Morgan County provides services for students performing at high academic or creative levels compared with peers and develops individual educational programming around identified needs.

How services work: The district confirms local gifted services and an educational program developed around each qualifying student, but the reviewed page does not publish grade-by-grade models or frequency. Families should verify details with Special Services.

How students are identified: Students performing at high academic or creative levels may qualify under Alabama requirements. District forms include a parent referral and gifted eligibility documentation; families should contact Special Services for current screening steps.

Grades
District program; grade span not stated publicly
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Decatur City School District

Gifted and Talented Education Program

Decatur City provides rigorous, relevant active-learning experiences aligned with gifted students' interests, abilities, culture, readiness, social-emotional needs, and critical-thinking development.

How services work: Gifted and general educators collaborate to differentiate instruction. Options include K–6 resource, K–9 cluster, grades 6–10 advanced or honors, grades 9–12 AP, grades 11–12 IB, plus a grades 1–5 magnet for gifted and high-achieving students.

How students are identified: Anyone who knows the student may refer, and all second graders are observed. A body of evidence and state matrix combine qualitative and quantitative aptitude, characteristics, and performance information; families begin with the school counselor.

Grades
K–12
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Hartselle City School District

Gifted Services

Hartselle identifies students who need academic or creative services beyond the regular school program and provides enrichment/gifted support through Special Services.

How services work: The district lists enrichment/gifted support that supplements classroom instruction; its public gifted page does not publish a grade-by-grade service schedule.

How students are identified: Anyone knowledgeable about a student may refer, all second graders are observed, and eligibility uses an aptitude, characteristics, and performance matrix.

Grades
Districtwide referral; service grades not stated
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026

District geography

Serving districts

Some districts cross county boundaries. Area shown is the district land area associated with this county, not its total footprint.

  1. 515.41 sq miLocal program reviewed
  2. 49.41 sq miLocal program reviewed
  3. 14.86 sq miLocal program reviewed
Use the district as the authority.

Eligibility, referrals, grade levels, deadlines, and program locations change. Always confirm decisions with the school district before acting. Bloomfield Academy is independent and is not affiliated with any district.

Back to the national directory