County program record

Limestone County, Alabama

5 public school districts are geographically associated with this county in the 2024–25 NCES relationship file.

State research baseline

Alabama gifted education framework

Alabama recognizes intellectually gifted learners as exceptional children and publishes statewide policy, referral, eligibility, rights, and instructional standards for gifted education.

What this means for families: Families may initiate a referral through their local school system. Eligibility and services follow the Alabama framework, while grade configuration, setting, and instructional schedule are determined locally.

Coverage
K–12 through public school systems
Last reviewed
September 5, 2026

Official program research

Limestone County School District

Gifted Education

Limestone County identifies students who require academic or creative services not ordinarily provided by the regular school program.

How services work: The district publishes gifted identification guidance in its student handbook; the public document does not specify a uniform grade span or weekly delivery schedule.

How students are identified: Anyone knowledgeable about a student may refer, all second graders complete a scored screening process, and aptitude, characteristics, and performance evidence are gathered for referred students.

Grades
Districtwide referral; service grades not stated
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Athens City School District

Gifted & Talented Education

Athens City provides state-approved gifted services facilitated by gifted-certified specialists for students who need faster pace, depth, and complexity.

How services work: A gifted-certified specialist facilitates services under the district's state-approved Local Education Agency gifted plan; the public page distinguishes this model from general enrichment.

How students are identified: Referrals may be submitted at any time by anyone knowledgeable about an enrolled student age six or older; all second graders are observed, and aptitude, characteristics, and performance determine matrix eligibility.

Grades
Age 6 through high school
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Huntsville City School District

Gifted and Talented Education Program (GATE)

Huntsville City formally identifies gifted learners to plan, monitor, and provide targeted or intensive programming beyond the regular classroom, including advanced academic and creative pathways.

How services work: Services follow an Advanced Education Plan and include school-based GATE support, talent development, and a middle-school Academy for Gifted and Talented with honors core courses and gifted or creative electives.

How students are identified: The district uses second-grade Child Find and a quantitative and qualitative body of evidence to decide whether a student needs targeted or intensive programming. Families may contact the school gifted teacher or district Gifted Services coordinator.

Grades
K–12
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Madison City School District

Gifted Education

Madison City provides a K–12 continuum combining consultation, teacher collaboration, concept- and problem-based pull-out learning, social-emotional support, and advanced secondary courses.

How services work: K–2 receives consultation; general educators collaborate with gifted staff across grades; grades 3–5 use pull-out curriculum; grades 6–12 use advanced courses, including inquiry-based gifted electives in middle school.

How students are identified: All second graders receive Child Find observations and eliciting lessons. Students in grades 3–5 may be referred at any time by school staff, families, peers, themselves, or another knowledgeable person; the screening team reviews assessments, work samples, and behavior scales.

Grades
K–12
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Decatur City School District

Gifted and Talented Education Program

Decatur City provides rigorous, relevant active-learning experiences aligned with gifted students' interests, abilities, culture, readiness, social-emotional needs, and critical-thinking development.

How services work: Gifted and general educators collaborate to differentiate instruction. Options include K–6 resource, K–9 cluster, grades 6–10 advanced or honors, grades 9–12 AP, grades 11–12 IB, plus a grades 1–5 magnet for gifted and high-achieving students.

How students are identified: Anyone who knows the student may refer, and all second graders are observed. A body of evidence and state matrix combine qualitative and quantitative aptitude, characteristics, and performance information; families begin with the school counselor.

Grades
K–12
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026

District geography

Serving districts

Some districts cross county boundaries. Area shown is the district land area associated with this county, not its total footprint.

  1. 469.99 sq miLocal program reviewed
  2. 41.88 sq miLocal program reviewed
  3. 38.52 sq miLocal program reviewed
  4. 7.23 sq miLocal program reviewed
  5. 5.17 sq miLocal program reviewed
Use the district as the authority.

Eligibility, referrals, grade levels, deadlines, and program locations change. Always confirm decisions with the school district before acting. Bloomfield Academy is independent and is not affiliated with any district.

Back to the national directory