County program record

Henry County, Alabama

2 public school districts are geographically associated with this county in the 2024–25 NCES relationship file.

State research baseline

Alabama gifted education framework

Alabama recognizes intellectually gifted learners as exceptional children and publishes statewide policy, referral, eligibility, rights, and instructional standards for gifted education.

What this means for families: Families may initiate a referral through their local school system. Eligibility and services follow the Alabama framework, while grade configuration, setting, and instructional schedule are determined locally.

Coverage
K–12 through public school systems
Last reviewed
September 5, 2026

Official program research

Henry County School District

Henry County Gifted Program Services

Henry County identifies students demonstrating high academic or creative potential who need services not ordinarily provided in the regular program.

How services work: The district publishes gifted-program referral and eligibility guidance through its school handbooks; a grade-by-grade delivery schedule is not publicly stated.

How students are identified: Educators, families, peers, students, or others may refer; all second graders are observed, and aptitude, characteristics, and performance determine matrix eligibility.

Grades
Districtwide referral; service grades not stated
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Dothan City School District

Learning in Consultation (LinC)

LinC extends the general curriculum with creative and lateral thinking, research, problem solving, and explorations of technological, environmental, and humanitarian topics.

How services work: Qualified students meet in a resource room for three hours weekly in grades 3–6 and 1.5 hours weekly in grades 7–8; K–8 teachers also receive consultation for differentiated instruction.

How students are identified: All second graders participate in Child Find; families or teachers may also refer, and a matrix combines aptitude, characteristics, and multiple performance indicators.

Grades
K–8
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026

District geography

Serving districts

Some districts cross county boundaries. Area shown is the district land area associated with this county, not its total footprint.

  1. 561.75 sq miLocal program reviewed
  2. 0.18 sq miLocal program reviewed
Use the district as the authority.

Eligibility, referrals, grade levels, deadlines, and program locations change. Always confirm decisions with the school district before acting. Bloomfield Academy is independent and is not affiliated with any district.

Back to the national directory