County program record

Escambia County, Alabama

2 public school districts are geographically associated with this county in the 2024–25 NCES relationship file.

State research baseline

Alabama gifted education framework

Alabama recognizes intellectually gifted learners as exceptional children and publishes statewide policy, referral, eligibility, rights, and instructional standards for gifted education.

What this means for families: Families may initiate a referral through their local school system. Eligibility and services follow the Alabama framework, while grade configuration, setting, and instructional schedule are determined locally.

Coverage
K–12 through public school systems
Last reviewed
September 5, 2026

Official program research

Escambia County School District

Gifted Education

Escambia County coordinates gifted education through its Special Services department and identifies a district Gifted Education Coordinator.

How services work: Gifted education is administered through district Special Services; the public department page does not publish a grade-by-grade delivery model or schedule.

How students are identified: The reviewed public page does not state referral or eligibility criteria; families should contact the Gifted Education Coordinator for current procedures.

Grades
Districtwide; grade details not stated
Last reviewed
September 4, 2026
Brewton City School District

Gifted and Advanced Learning

Brewton City School District publishes an official local page for its Gifted and Advanced Learning.

How services work: The official district page confirms the local program; the accessible page text does not specify the current delivery model.

How students are identified: The official district page does not state a complete current identification process; families should confirm referral, screening, and eligibility directly with the district.

Grades
Grade coverage published locally; confirm current grades with the district
Last reviewed
September 6, 2026

District geography

Serving districts

Some districts cross county boundaries. Area shown is the district land area associated with this county, not its total footprint.

  1. 934.11 sq miLocal program reviewed
  2. 11.3 sq miLocal program reviewed
Use the district as the authority.

Eligibility, referrals, grade levels, deadlines, and program locations change. Always confirm decisions with the school district before acting. Bloomfield Academy is independent and is not affiliated with any district.

Back to the national directory